Ben Frost (AUS)

Vakning w. Francesco Fabris

Born in Melbourne, Australia, and residing in Reykjavík, Iceland, since 2005, Frost has been composing minimalist, instrumental and experimental music, with influences ranging from classic minimalism to punk rock and metal.
His earliest releases include guitar albums Steel Wound (2003) and School of Emotional Engineering (2004). Subsequently, Theory of Machines (2007) marked a radical shift towards more edgy and aggressive music with By The Throat (2009). In 2011, as part of a collaboration with Brian Eno and fellow Icelandic composer Daníel Bjarnason, Frost released Solaris, a conceptual album that echoed the music from Andrei Tarkovsky’s film of the same name. In 2014, after signing a deal with the British record label Mute Records, Frost released the critically acclaimed and decidedly more rhythmic album Aurora. In 2017 Frost traveled to Chicago to record The Center Cannot Hold with Steve Albini. In addition to his studio albums, Frost has collaborated with contemporary dance companies Chunky Move, the Icelandic Dance Company and British choreographer Wayne McGregor. He composed the music for Wayne McGregor’s 2010 production FAR.
In addition to his solo work, Frost has often collaborated with other musicians, including composer Nico Muhly, Valgeir Sigurðsson, Björk, Tim Hecker, Colin Stetson, Daníel Bjarnason and the American rock group Swans, contributing to the albums as a producer, engineer of studio and performer.
In 2013, in his first directorial role, he premiered a musical theater adaptation of Iain Banks’ novel The Wasp Factory.
In 2015, in collaboration with Paul Haslinger, he created the soundtrack for Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege.
Two years later, he made the soundtrack for the Super Dark Times movie. In the same year, he premiered a new installation, titled Incoming, with Richard Mosse and Trevor Tweeten at London’s Barbican Center, now touring around the world.
Frost participated in the recording of Swans’ 2019 album Leaving Meaning and joined their touring band.
From 2017 to 2020, Frost created the soundtrack for all three seasons of Netflix’s German sci-fi thriller Dark.